mX kronika om svenska kottbullar och greker




Kollade igenom gamla artiklar fran nar jag praktiserade pa mX i Sydney i 2008 (det ar ungefar som Stockholms Metro) och hittade en kronika jag skrev om hur illa jag tyckte om matlagning.

Det var roligt att lasa eftersom jag nu faktiskt alskar att laga mat och ofta gor det pa helgerna.

Tank vad man kan andras pa nagra ar ;)





Monday April 28, 2008

Boel Eriksson

on cooking


Let me tell you a secret: I can’t cook.


To me, it seems to be an ability that you are born with –


you simply have it or you don’t.


In today’s food culture, where many of us rely on


microwaves and fast food, my lack of talent in the cooking


area hasn’t always been a concern.


While living on my own, I was quite happy with ready-tomicrowave


meals, takeaways and occasionally eating out


when my budget allowed.


My motto was: ‘‘Who needs to cook when there’s such a


great supply for those of us who can’t?’’


That was until I started dating a Greek guy.


If you haven’t been involved with a Greek family, or even


attended a dinner at a Greek family’s home, you might not


be able to understand the seriousness of the problem.


To have reached the mature age of 23 without being able


to cook up a feast is an unforgivable sin.


My shortcoming has been hard to disguise, considering


the fact I now live with my partner and his family.


They have a tradition of eating dinner together every


Wednesday with two of his uncles’ families, at the home of


whoever’s turn it is to be host.


It is unofficially dubbed a ‘‘cook off’’, with the woman of


the house always making something delicious.


Now, it’s been mentioned to me more than once that


when my partner and I move to our own place, I’ll be the next


to invite them over for dinner.


Great. The very thought of it makes me nervous.


I know what you’re thinking: Just follow a recipe. But it’s


not that easy.


To me, that’s just a list of step-by-step instructions for


preparing ingredients that I forgot to buy, using utensils I


don’t own, and the result never looks like the tasty meal in


the cookbook picture.


Believe me, I’ve tried before.


Last year, I decided that it was time for me to contribute


more to dinner than just making the salad.


Wanting to make it more interesting, I decided to offer


something from my native country.


Unfortunately, my Swedish meatballs weren’t quite up to


scratch.


Afterwards, I heard that they were offered to the dog, who


apparently wasn’t impressed either.


I quickly went back to being the salad maker.


Don’t think I didn’t try to learn because I didn’t enjoy food.


I love eating. It’s just that the love hasn’t quite stretched


out as far as enjoying the cooking itself.


At least I can establish that the myth, ‘‘the way to a man’s


heart is through his stomach’’, certainly isn’t true.


After two years together and without me providing any


culinary experiences, my partner still seems quite happy.


And as for the day we move to our own place, I’ll have to


say: ‘‘If you don’t like my cooking, then lower your


standards.’’


Now that’s a good motto to tuck into.




Boel Eriksson is an mX reader who can’t stomach the idea of preparing a home-cooked meal.




Kommentarer
Postat av: Mia

Duktig du är! Rolig läsning.

2012-01-12 @ 23:31:03
URL: http://www.theswedishgirl.blogspot.com
Postat av: Anydaynow

Haha, vad roligt att du skrivit i mX! 2008 gick jag på uni & läste mX varje dag, måste dock ha missat denna, eftersom jag nog hade reagerat på ett svenskt namns som Boel Eriksson! :)

2012-01-13 @ 08:44:19
URL: http://enderadagen.blogspot.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0